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DEPARTMENT OF MILITARY AFFAIRS 
 

VETERANS' TRUST FUND BOARD OF TRUSTEES 
 

PROCEDURE FOR APPEALS AND HEARINGS 
 
 
(By authority of Act No. 197 of the Public Acts of 1952,  as   amended,   and section 

4(c) of Act No. 9 of the Public Acts of the First  Extra  Session  of 1946, being MCL 
35.604 of  the   Michigan   Compiled Laws) 

 
 
R  35.1   Appeal; hearing. 
  Rule 1. When a veteran advises a  county  committee   that   he   considers himself 

aggrieved at their decision and desires to appeal to  the  board   of trustees, he shall be 
advised by the  county  committee  at   the   time   of filing his appeal that he may appear 
before the board  for   a   hearing   in person or by duly authorized representative, at his 
own expense. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  35.2   Request to appeal. 
  Rule 2. The request to appeal shall be made in writing to  the   board   of trustees 

within 10 days after  receipt  of  the  decision   of   the   county committee, either directly 
to the board or through  the   county   committee, and shall contain an accurate statement 
of the  facts   pertaining   to   his application, together with a statement as to whether  or   
not   a   personal hearing is desired. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  35.3   Submission of new evidence. 
  Rule 3. Upon receipt of appeal, the executive secretary  of  the   Michigan veterans' 

trust fund board of trustees  shall  request   the   appellant   to submit within 10 days any 
new and material evidence that he   may   have   to support his claim. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  35.4   Notice to county committee. 
  Rule 4. County committees will be notified of the receipt  of   appeal   by the board 

of  trustees,  advised  as  to  whether  or  not   a   hearing   is requested, and asked  to  
submit  any  additional  evidence   that  may   be available. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
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R  35.5   Referral of appeal to board of trustees. 
  Rule 5. If no new evidence  is  submitted  within  the   period   of   time prescribed 

(10 days),  the  appeal  will  be  referred  to   the   board   of trustees. If a personal hearing 
is requested, the appellant  and  the  county committee shall be notified of the date, time 
and place of  the  meeting   of the board at which the appellant is to  appear  for  such   
hearing.   If   a personal hearing is not requested, the appeal shall  be   referred   to   the 
board for consideration at the earliest possible time for  decision  on   the record as 
submitted. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  35.6   Results of appeal; copies. 
  Rule 6. The original signed copy of the results of the   appeal   will   be retained by 

the board of trustees, a copy will be forwarded for the  files of the county committee 
concerned, and a copy furnished to the  appellant. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  35.7   Compliance with board's decision. 
  Rule 7. Action to comply with the decision  of  the   board   of   trustees shall be 

taken by the county committee within 5 days after  receipt  of   the copy of the results of 
the appeal. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
 


